Intern/Associate Network


The Intern/Associates Network


Architect Registration Examination Financial Assistance Fund (AREFAF)

The Architect Registration Examination Financial Assistance Fund (AREFAF) was created by the Seventy-sixth Legislature of the state of Texas. This fund serves a public purpose of the state of Texas by promoting the professional needs of the state; increasing the number of highly trained and educated registered architects available to serve the residents of the state; improving the state's business environment and encouraging economic development; and identifying, recognizing, and supporting outstanding applicants who plan to pursue careers in architecture.

The award is a one-time reimbursement of $500 for taking the Architect Registration Examination. The awards will be presented twice each year - December 31 and June 30. The deadline for submitting applications is two weeks prior to each award date.

Eligibility: Applicants must meet the following criteria:
- Have resided in Texas for at least 18 months immediately preceding the date of application
- Have completed sections of the exam for which the combined fees total at least $500
- Have been approved for examination by TBAE and paid all required fees
- Have not been disciplined or been the subject of a pending enforcement proceeding by an architectural registration board
- Meet established financial requirements. On December 1, 2006, the income maximums (adjusted gross income as shown on most recent income tax return) were raised to $52,000 (filing status single) and $75,000 (filing status married).

Visit the website for more information.



TSA / TAF Scholarships for Future Architects

TSA is actively involved in assisting students who plan to pursue careers in architecture. TSA cooperates with a sister organization, the Texas Architectural Foundation (TAF) to provide grants and scholarships to students and programs of architecture in the state's schools of architecture.

Eligibility: TAF scholarships are awarded to undergraduate, graduate, or post-graduate students in the accredited departments or schools of architecture in Texas according to the criteria established by each donor and in accordance with the policies adopted by the Board of Trustees of TAF. All applications for TAF scholarships are made through the office of the dean.

Visit the website to view available scholarships.



Jason Pettigrew Memorial ARE Scholarship
The AIA Center for Emerging Professionals has opened the nominations for the 2011 AIA/NAC Jason Pettigrew Memorial ARE Scholarship. The NAC established this scholarship in honor of late friend and colleague Jason Pettigrew, who was committed to professional development and community service. The scholarship recognizes the significant contributions of interns at early stages in their careers and encourages them to complete the licensure process by defraying costs associated with the Architect Registration Examination (ARE).

Eligibility: a nominee must be an Associate AIA member, an NCARB Record holder, or a person who has passed one or more divisions of the ARE but has not passed all divisions.
Completed nominations and applications are due Friday, April 8, 2011, 5:00 pm EDT

For full eligibility rules, award criteria, and application procedures, visit the website.
Architect Registration Examination Financial Assistance Fund (AREFAF)