Young Architects Forum

YAF Meetings

YAF meets the fourth Tuesday of every month from 12-1pm

AIA Houston
P.O. Box 66696
Houston, TX 77266

CKLDP - Benefactor Sponsors

Announcing the 2020 Ben Brewer Award Recipient





Luis Ayala, has been selected as the recipient of AIA Houston’s 2020 Ben Brewer Young Architect Award! The Ben Brewer Young Architect Award was selected by a panel of architects from the AIA Miami Chapter.

For the past twelve years, Luis has focused on the design of educational facilities for higher education institutions and K-12 schools. Sustainability is one of Luis’ primary interests, and many of his projects have received design awards recognizing his innovations in sustainable design. Luis is also an professional architectural photographer, recognized in 2017 by the Texas Society of Architects with the "Award for Excellence in the Promotion of Architecture Through the Media." In 2016, Luis' design work was included in the Emerging Voices exhibition at ArCH, as well as the AIA National Emerging Professionals exhibition at AIA Headquarters in Washington D.C.

Luis is an active member in the Latinos in Architecture (LIA) Committee of AIA Houston and the Architecture Center Houston's Michael G. Meyers Design Competition, where he mentors high school students in developing their architecture ideas for the annual scholarship competition.

View portfolio here

Past Winners

2019 Catherine Callaway, AIA
2018 Andrew Albers, AIA
2017 Jesse Hager, AIA
2016 Brett Zamore, AIA
2015 Christian Sherridan, AIA
2014 Laura Flannery Sachtleben, AIA
2013 Karen Lantz, AIA
2012 Julie Hendricks, AIA
2011 Mark Schatz, AIA
2010 James Evans, AIA
2009 Nicola Springer, AIA
2008 Camillo Parra, AIA
2007 Wyatt Frantom, AIA
2006 Michael Morton, AIA
2005 Lonnie Hoogeboom, AIA
2004 Brian Malarkey, FAIA
2003 Dallas Felder, AIA
2002 Scott Reagan Miller, AIA
2001 Wes Good, AIA
2000 Donna Kacmar, FAIA
1999 Mark Wamble, AIA
1998 Mark Francis, AIA
1997 Virginia Kelsey, AIA
1996 Tim Conroy, AIA
1995 David Epstein, AIA
1994 Kurt Neubeck, FAIA
1993 Suzanne Labarthe, AIA
1992 Val Glitsch, FAIA
1991 Joyce Rossner, AIA
1990 Doug Oliver, AIA
1989 Natayle Appel, FAIA
1988 Jay Baker, FAIA
1987 Leslie Davidson
1986 Tess Shine, AIA
1986 Laura Horstman, AIA
1985 Tom Dobbins, AIA
1985 Gerald L. Moorhead, FAIA

About the Ben Brewer Award for Young Architects:

Named in honor of Ben Brewer, FAIA, for distinguished service to the profession and his significant influence on young professionals. This award recognizes excellence in ability, exceptional work, and significant contributions in the practice of architecture by architects who are in their first 10 years of practice.

The Award will be given for exceptional work and general excellence in the practice of architecture. The jury will consider contributions to team activities as well as individual efforts in its evaluative process. The Award is intended to recognize accomplishment rather than promise alone.

The range of activities for which an individual may be considered includes, but is not limited to: design, the science of construction, literature, education, service to the profession, public service, historic preservation, research, urban design, government, industry, or architectural practice.

Nominations may be made by any AIA Houston member or firm. Nominees must be members of AIA Houston and may be in practice alone or in association with others. Call for nominations are released in January, applications are typically due end of February/beginning of March.